Skip to Main Content

Databases by Subject

Cochrane Library

HealthSTAR

MEDLINE

What is MEDLINE?? 

MEDLINE® is the National Library of Medicine® (NLM®) journal citation database. Started in the 1960s, it now provides more than 22 million references to biomedical and life sciences journal articles back to 1946. MEDLINE includes citations from more than 5,600 scholarly journals published around the world. Publishers submit journals to an NIH-chartered advisory committee, the Literature Selection Technical Review Committee (LSTRC), which reviews and recommends journals for MEDLINE. The LSTRC considers the quality of the scientific content of a journal, including originality and the importance of the content for the MEDLINE global audience, using the guidelines found on the NLM Fact Sheet MEDLINE Journal Selection. The MEDLINE database is directly searchable from NLM as a subset of the PubMed® database as well as through other numerous search services that license the data. In addition to the comprehensive journal selection process, what sets MEDLINE apart from the rest of PubMed is the added value of using the NLM controlled vocabulary, Medical Subject Headings (MeSH®), to index citations.

PubMed

Comprises more than 24 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.

Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central (a free full-text archive of biomedical and life sciences journal literature at the NIH) and publisher web sites.

Click the blue "Owned by Upstate" button in each citation to access full text via the Upstate Health Sciences Library. 

TRIP

The TRIP Database provides direct, hyperlinked access to the largest collection of 'evidence-based' material on the web, searching over 55 sites of high-quality medical information. Multiple resources can be searched simultaneously. Full text is available.