Research Impact Metrics: Citation Analysis

Learn about citation analysis and some of the most popular tools and methods.

List of Alternative Journal Ranking Sources

Eigenfactor.org

A free and searchable database, journals listed in the Eigenfactor database may be searched by ISSN, publisher, year published, exact journal name or by using the Journal Citation Report ISI categories.

The Eigenfactor site also includes other metrics for evaluating scholarly publications such as subscription cost effectiveness and the Eigenfactor Motion Graph which is a way to view changes within scholarly publishing from 1997 to 2008 based on journal Eigenfactor scores, article influence, journal price, self citation rate and other metrics. Not all JCR categories are available for Motion Graph.

Harzing.com

The Harzing.com web site provides an annual Journal Quality List for a select group of social science and business journals. The Harzing web site provides the downloadable program Publish or Perish which uses Google Scholar and Microsoft Academic Search data to provide citation metrics.

SCImago Journal & Country Rank

A free source that uses data from Elsevier's Scopus database and includes journal indicators developed from the information contained in the Scopus database since 1996. It does not include journal impact factors but does have a number of other indicators, including SCImago Journal Rank (SJR) and h-index, cites per document, etc. Journals may be ranked by major subject areas, more specific subject categories, SJR, h-index, etc.This web site lets you find journal rankings and country rankings related to published research output.

Centre for Science and Technology Studies (CWTS), Leiden University

Leiden University’s Centre for Science and Technology Studies (CWTS) provides the SNIP metrics for over 20,000 journals indexed in Scopus. These are the same SNIP measurements in Scopus but using this link they are free.

Journals in Social Work and Related Disciplines: Manuscript Submission Information

Patrick Leung and Monit Cheung, two professions in the Graduate College of Social Work, University of Houston have compiled data on a number of journals where social work researchers might submit articles. This list includes information from Journal Citation Report and is periodically updated.