Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Medical Humanities: Medical Humanities Journals

Medical Humanities Selected Journals

Selected Medical Humanities Journals

 

Ars Medica

ARS MEDICA is a biannual literary journal, started in 2004, that explores the interface between the arts and healing, and examines what makes medicine an art. ARS MEDICA remains the only medical literary journal in Canada, and one of a hInstructions for Paste and Spellcheck andful of such journals in the world, in the rapidly developing international field of the humanities in healthcare.  Visit the web site to search the journal.


The Health Sciences Library does not subscribe to this journal. Please request articles via ILLiad.

Bellevue Literary Review

Bellevue Hospital, the oldest public hospital in the United States, has been witness to nearly three centuries of human drama. In this tradition we have created the Bellevue Literary Review, a forum for illuminating humanity and human experience. The BLR is published by the Department of Medicine at NYU Langone Medical Center. Selected articles are available at the journal web site.


The Bellevue Literary Review is searchable in the Humanities Source database. The Health Sciences Library does not subscribe to this journal. Please request articles via ILLiad.

Examined Life Journal

A literary journal produced by the University of Iowa Roy J. and Lucille A. Carver College of Medicine. Browse the Table of Contents at the journal web site. The Health Sciences Library does not subscribe to this journal. Please request articles via ILLiad.

Healing Muse

The Healing Muse is searchable in the Humanities Source database. The Healing Muse is the annual journal of literary and visual art published by SUNY Upstate Medical University's Center for Bioethics & Humanities. We welcome fiction, poetry, narratives, essays, memoirs and visual art, particularly but not exclusively focusing on themes of medicine, illness, disability and healing.

The Health Sciences Library has full text from 2001 to present in print.

Journal of Medical Humanities

The Journal of Medical Humanities is searchable in PubMed! The journal publishes original papers reflecting its broad perspective on interdisciplinary studies of medicine and medical education. Research findings emerge from three areas of investigation: medical humanities, cultural studies, and pedagogy.

The Health Sciences Library has full text from 1997 to one year ago. For the current year, please request articles via ILLiad

Literature and Medicine

Literature and Medicine is searchable in PubMed! For more than a quarter of a century, Literature and Medicine has published quality scholarly essays exploring interdisciplinary connections between literary understanding and medical knowledge and practice.

The Health Sciences Library has full text from 1996 to one year ago. For the current year, please request articles via ILLiad.

 

Medical Humanities (BMJ)

Medical Humanities is searchable in PubMed! Medical Humanities is a leading international journal that reflects the whole field of medical humanities. It features original articles relevant to the delivery of healthcare, the formulation of public health policy, the experience of being ill and of caring for those who are ill, as well as case conferences, educational case studies, book, film, and art reviews, editorials, correspondence, news and notes.

The Health Sciences Library has full text from 2000 to present.

Perspectives in Biology and Medicine

Perspectives in Biology and Medicine is searchable in PubMed! Perspectives in Biology and Medicine is an interdisciplinary scholarly journal whose readers include biologists, physicians, students, and scholars, publishes essays that place important biological or medical subjects in broader scientific, social, or humanistic contexts. These essays span a wide range of subjects, from biomedical topics such as neurobiology, genetics, and evolution, to history, philosophy, and medical education and practice.

The Health Sciences Library has full text from 2002 to one year ago. For the current year, please request articles via ILLiad.

 

Subject Guide