Nursing Resources for Students and Faculty

Streaming Online Tutorials

Database Help

• Academic Search Premier: Basic Searching (EBSCO)
  A multi-disciplinary database provides full text for more than 4,650 journals
• CINAHL Help Sheets & User Guides
• CINAHL with Full Text
  The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL), is the most comprehensive resource for nursing and allied health literature
• ClinicalTrials Online Training
• Cochrane Library
• Cochrane Library from the HSL
  Youtube video on searching the Cochrane Library created by the HSL.
• EBSCO Tutorials
• Entrez Databases
• ERIC Searching
  Learn how to access ERIC from the HSL website, run an advanced search, include limits, and use the ERIC thesaurus.
• Essential Evidence Plus from the HSL
  Youtube tutorial created by HSL staff. EEP is a clinical awareness system that highlights important new evidence via DailyPOEMs ("Patient-Oriented Evidence that Matters"), synopses of new, valid evidence relevant to patient care originating from critical appraisal of studies published in more than 100 journals.
• Essential Evidence Plus Tutorial
• Gene Frequently Asked Questions
• MEDLINE/PubMed and Other Databases
• Micromedex Tutorial
• National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI) resources.
• NLM Gateway Help
• NLM Training Manuals and Resources
• OVID Training and Documentation
• PubMed for Nurses Tutorial
• PubMed Tutorials & Recordings
• PubMed Online Training
• Scopus
  Cross-disciplinary database of scientific research literature, as well as coverage in technical, medical and social sciences (including arts and humanities) fields
• TOXNET
• TRIP (Turning Research Into Practice)
  The TRIP Database provides hyperlinked access to the largest collection of 'evidence-based' material on the web. Search multiple resources simultaneously.
• UpToDate Demos

Library Website Navigation

• Introduction to the Health Sciences Library
  Introduction to the SUNY Upstate Health Sciences Library web site.

MEDLINE

• Chapter 1 - What is MEDLINE?
  Learn how to access MEDLINE (Ovid) from the UPSTATE Health Sciences Library website.
• Chapter 2 - Accessing MEDLINE (Ovid) at the UPSTATE Health Sciences Library
  Learn how to access MEDLINE (Ovid) from the UPSTATE Health Sciences Library website.
• Chapter 3 - Using Medical Subject Headings (MESH)
  Learn about Medical Subject Headings (MeSH), and how to use them while searching in MEDLINE (Ovid).
• Chapter 4 - Using PICO
  Learn how to use PICO, a strategy for identifying the correct keywords to use in a medical literature search. Apply PICO to a clinical scenario and use the components to form a clinical question.
• Chapter 5 - Broad Searches & Scope Notes in MEDLINE (Ovid)
  Explanation of how to do a broad search using a medical subject heading in MEDLINE (Ovid).
• Chapter 6 - Using Explode & Focus in MEDLINE (Ovid)
  Explanation of what the Explode and Focus features do in MEDLINE (Ovid), along with an example of narrowing a search using the Focus feature.
• Chapter 7 - Applying Subheadings - MEDLINE (Ovid)
  Explanation of how to apply subheadings in MEDLINE (Ovid) to narrow a search.
• Chapter 8 - Applying Limits & Combining Searches in MEDLINE (Ovid)
  View a sample search where limits are applied to further narrow the search results. This chapter also discusses how to combine searches in MEDLINE (Ovid).
• Chapter 9 - Final Search Results & Review - MEDLINE (Ovid)
  A review of the search strategy used in MEDLINE (Ovid) to retrieve a list of results on the topic.
• Searching in MEDLINE (Ovid)
  Tutorial created by the UPSTATE Health Sciences Library to assist with advanced searching in MEDLINE (Ovid). Includes chapters on using PICO, explode & focus, subheadings, limits, combining searches, and more.

Research Assistance

• Evidence Based Medicine- Guide to Research Methods from SUNY Downstate
  Guide to Research Methods and the Evidence Pyramid from SUNY Downstate.
• Evidence Based Resources on the Upstate HSL Web Site
  Learn where to find Evidence Based resources on the Health Sciences Library website.
• Introduction to Evidence-Based Medicine
  Created by Duke and UNC, this tutorial is intended for any health care practitioner or student who needs a basic introduction to the principles of Evidence-Based Practice.
• PubMed Evidence Based Searching
  Youtube tutorial created by HSL staff provides tips for narrowing PubMed search results to the highest levels of evidence.
• RefWorks Tutorials
  A series of brief Refworks tutorials created by Refworks.
• RefWorks Introduction to RefWorks Home includes Write-N-Cite 4