NURS 481
Resources covered in the Library session
- PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed comprises millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window Citations to articles from nursing and allied health journals, plus additional materials, including full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and continuing education modules.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window Multi-disciplinary search tool containing citations, abstracts, and references from journal articles, books, trade publications, conferences and more.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Contains multiple evidence based databases including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) containing systematic reviews of research in health care and health policy and the Cochrane Controlled Clinical Trials Register (Cochrane CENTRAL) containing abstracts of randomised and quasi-randomised controlled trials.
- RefWorks Citation management tool that assists in tracking resources and and formatting citations.
Resource Tutorials
- PubMed for NursesThis tutorial was created specifically to help nurses efficiently find literature using PubMed.
Primary or Secondary Resource?
What does it mean to refer to a resource by the terms PRIMARY and SECONDARY?
~ PRIMARY resource: the author(s) collected or created the data / research presented
Examples: original research published in a peer reviewed journal, dissertation
Where? PubMed, Scopus, CINAHL, Scholar, Government data (e.g. CDC web site and publications e.g. MMWR)
~ SECONDARY resource: the author(s) summarized, analyzed or synthesized the research of others
Examples: literature review, systematic review, organization web sites (see link below), clinical point of care tools
Where? Databases listed above, Google, Wikipedia, Up to Date, Dynamed