Skip to main content

Preserving Professional Papers

Faculty and staff interested in donating their papers to the Archives & Special Collections department in the Health Sciences Library may refer to this guide for advice and best practices tutorials.

Faculty and Staff Papers in the Archives

The Archives seeks to document the University and professional careers of Upstate Medical University administrators, faculty, and staff. The Archives also accepts the papers of Upstate alumni if these records relate to the individual’s involvement with the University or Hospital. The Special Collections can accept donations of papers for persons involved with the practice of medicine and scientific research in the Central New York region. The Archives does not have the space or resources to accept personal and family papers, and materials should be focused of the professional lives on their creators.

The following are the types of records that are usually sought for preservation:

  • Biographical Material: resumes, vitae, bibliographies, biographical and autobiographical sketches, chronologies, newspaper clippings, memoirs
  • Correspondence: official outgoing (copies and/or drafts) and incoming letters and memoranda generated in the course of conducting University or professional business
  • Diaries, notebooks, and journals reflecting work done for the University
  • Classroom Material: lecture notes, syllabi, course outlines, reading lists, examinations, evaluations
  • Research Files: outlines, research designs, notes, analyses, and reports of findings for projects worked on at the University
  • Departmental or Committee Records: agendas, minutes, reports, correspondence, and related material when chair of a committee or primary drafter of the report
  • Unpublished articles and monographs
  • Audiovisual Material: recordings of lectures, speeches, discussions, interviews, or research
  • Photographs: prints, negatives, slides, and digital images, preferably with identifying information
  • Memorabilia related to Upstate Medical University

The following materials are not appropriate for archival retention:

  • Duplicates of publications, including reprints
  • Reference photocopies
  • Memorabilia, plaques, awards (with some exceptions)
  • Extensive data sets

Digital Collections

Contact Archives & Special Collections

(315) 464-4585
history@upstate.edu

Ask us a question

Archives & Special Collections Hours