Skip to main content

Preserving Professional Papers

Faculty and staff interested in donating their papers to the Archives & Special Collections department in the Health Sciences Library may refer to this guide for advice and best practices tutorials.

Donating Professional Materials to Archives & Special Collections

The Archives & Special Collections department is heavily reliant on materials donations to grow our holdings. Donations in-line with our Collections Policy are welcome, and we encourage potential donors to contact the department to discuss a materials deposit.

Archives & Special Collections materials are open to the public and are intended to support research in the history of medicine and awareness of the origins and contributions of Upstate Medical University. Restrictions on materials are discouraged, but may be possible in consultation with the staff. A Deed of Gift must be filed for any materials deposits. This agreements will stipulate any use restrictions, as well as transferring physical custody of materials to Upstate. A digitization authorization form allows staff to scan materials for ease of use by researchers, presentation on the web, and integration into exhibits and publications.

Though financial support is not required for the donation of materials, the cataloging, arranging, and preserving of archives and special collections are costly tasks. Monetary donations are always appreciated, especially in support of a particular collection or materials deposit. A donation may be made to the Friends of the Library Archives & Special Collections Fund by contacting the Upstate Foundation.

Accessing Archives & Special Collections Materials

Archives & Special Collections materials do not circulate and must be used in the department's offices on the second floor of the Health Sciences Library. Please contact us to schedule an appointment.

Contact Archives & Special Collections

(315) 464-4585
history@upstate.edu

Ask us a question

Archives & Special Collections Hours