Nursing Resource Guide
Databases
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Citations to articles from nursing and allied health journals, plus additional materials, including full-text evidence-based care sheets, quick lessons, and continuing education modules.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Contains multiple evidence based databases including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR) containing systematic reviews of research in health care and health policy and the Cochrane Controlled Clinical Trials Register (Cochrane CENTRAL) containing abstracts of randomised and quasi-randomised controlled trials. - Embase This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Indexing and abstracts of peer-reviewed biomedical literature with international scope, covering 1947-present. Contains thousands of journals not covered by PubMed/Medline and includes thousands of conference abstracts annually from 2009 to the present. EMBASE combines its own ontology, EMTREE, with that of Medline, so that more of the relevant search results are retrieved in a search. EMBASE is a resource for preparing systematic reviews and tracking drug and medical device information. - Joanna Briggs Institute (JBI EBP Database) This link opens in a new windowJoanna Briggs Institute brings together a range of practice-oriented research activities to improve the effectiveness of nursing practice and health care outcomes. It includes the following publication types: Evidence Based Recommended Practices, Evidence Summaries, Best Practice Information Sheets, Systematic Reviews, and Systematic Review Protocols.
- Krames On-Demand This link opens in a new window
Patient Education HealthSheets available on various topics in multiple languages. Login information can be obtained by contacting the library.
- LactMed This link opens in a new window
Contains information on drugs and other chemicals to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. It includes information on the levels of such substances in breast milk and infant blood, and the possible adverse effects in the nursing infant.
- Lexidrug This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
On-line drug information system including sections for interactions, pediatric, geriatric, nursing, patient education, and toxicology information. Also includes AHFS Essentials, drug identifiers, and calculators.
- PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises millions of citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central. Special features include myNCBI to customize your experience and Clinical Queries (built-in evidence-based search filters). - Scopus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary search tool containing citations, abstracts, and references from journal articles, books, trade publications, conferences and more. - Turning Research into Practice (TRIP) This link opens in a new windowSearches multiple websites and publicly available databases simultaneously, with a focus on clinical research and 'evidence-based' material.
Note: this URL has been updated. If you receive a 404 "Not Found" error, try clearing your cache or using a private browser. - UpToDate This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
An evidence-based clinical decision support resource that synthesizes scientific evidence and expert opinion that is organized to answer specific clinical questions. Also includes calculators, drug information, and patient education information.
- VisualDx This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A multi-symptom differential diagnosis database that utilizes radiographic images and dermatologic photographs and illustrations for diagnostic assistance.
