Nursing Resources for Students and Faculty
Quick links to Health Sciences Library databases, eBooks, mobile resources, tutorials, websites, writing and publishing support.
Point of Care Resources
- AccessEmergency Medicine This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
An integrated collection of emergency medicine textbooks, videos, atlases, drug information, and patient education resources aimed at providing current operative, procedural, and differential diagnosis information. Free board review resources are available with individual registration. - AccessMedicine This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window- This link opens in a new window
An innovative online resource that provides access to more than 60 medical titles from the best minds in medicine, updated content, thousands of images and illustrations, interactive self-assessment, case files, and diagnostic tools. - AccessPediatrics This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Online resource collection offers research, reference, instruction, and self-assessment tools devoted to the needs of the pediatric patient, from neonatal care through childhood, and adolescence. With individual registration create custom self-assessment quizzes. - AccessSurgery This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Includes more than 24 fully-searchable surgical references, over 160 surgical videos and animations showing step-by-step how to perform basic and advanced surgical procedures, 16,000 high quality images, as well as board review, a drug database, and clerkship resources. Free board review resources are available with individual registration.
- Current Medical Diagnosis and TreatmentA core reference for common medical disorders, with the focus on diagnosis and treatment.
- Reichman's Emergency Medicine ProceduresDetailed step-by-step approach to procedures performed in the Emergency Department.
- Essential Evidence Plus (formerly InfoPOEMS)Clinical awareness system that highlights important new evidence via DailyPOEMs ("Patient-Oriented Evidence that Matters"). This resource also includes evidence based practice guidelines, ICD-9 coding information, dermatologic differential diagnosis, and Continuing Medical Education. A PDA version is available.
- Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, 21eThis resource includes the complete current edition of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine. Also included are the differential diagnosis interface Diagnosaurus, drug monographs, Current Practice Guidelines in Primary Care, current health news, and patient education information.
- Health Assessment & Physical ExaminationA nursing based guide to physical examinations and health assessments.
- McGraw-Hill's Guide to Diagnostic TestsA basic reference for common laboratory values and diagnostic tests.
- Medscape Clinical CasesThis is a listing of clinical cases in all medical specialities. CME/CE is available for many of the cases. Access is available with free registration to Medscape.
- Professional Guide to DiseasesA basic-level handbook for the identification of diseases.
- PsychiatryOnlineA collection of core psychiatric textbooks, journals, American Psychiatric Association practice guidelines, patient education guides, and self-assessment quizzes.
- PubMed Clinical QueriesThis is a search interface of PubMed that helps locate evidence-based articles of a clinical nature.
- Red Book OnlineThis free online text focuses on pediatric disorders and includes vaccination schedule information and current health news.
- UpToDate on campus This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
A clinical information resource that provides current expert opinions on patient care, diagnosis, and treatment options. - VisualDx This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
A multi-symptom differential diagnosis database that utilizes radiographic images, dermatologic photographs, and illustrations for diagnostic assistance.
- Washington Manual of Surgical PathologyA practical guide to the clinical practice of surgical pathology.
Clinical Trials
Clinical Trials
Search for clinical trials currently taking place and for the results of completed trials.
Free Resources for Locating Clinical Trials
CenterWatch:Clinical Trials Listing Service
ClinicalTrials.gov
Emory Center on Health Outcomes and Quality
Search for the Clinical Trial Results
Resource contains materials with various evidence levels, additional appraisal may be needed
Medline/PubMed & CINAHL
- Medline or PubMed
- Use the Clinical Queries filter for Therapy or,
- Use the limit for Publication Type and limit search to Randomized Controlled Trials.
- CINAHL (Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health Literature)
- Use Clinical Queries for Treatment or,
- Use the limit for Research or,
- Use limit for Publication Types (i.e., Clinical Trials which includes RCTs).